Archive for the ‘General Auto Insurance’ Category


North Carolina Teenager Auto Insurance: Important Facts To Know Before Buying

Monday, September 17th, 2012

A 2003 Department of Transportation report found that a young driver age 19 or less was involved in a motor vehicle crash every 23.6 minutes. Over 19,000 people 19 or less were killed or injured in a car accident. The North Carolina State Highway Patrol offers driver education programs to combat the dangers associated with young, inexperienced drivers. Parents looking for North Carolina teenager auto insurance should consider the following facts before adding a child to their insurance policy.

Fact: Most Underage Accidents Involve Alcohol.

In 2005, the North Carolina State Highway Patrol arrested over 2,178 impaired drivers under age 21. North Carolina law stipulates that it is illegal for anyone under 21 to purchase, consume or possess alcohol. At best, impaired motorists will receive a fine of up to $200, loss of driving privileges, mandatory community service, alcohol awareness class, and possibly even jail for 60 days or less.  The most severe cases involve fines of up to $4,000, jail terms of 24 months, house arrest, required alcohol abuse treatment, and loss of driving privileges.

Fact: Seat Belt Use Is Compulsory In North Carolina.

It’s North Carolina law that everyone riding in a motor vehicle wear a safety belt. The driver can be held liable — financially and legally — if a passenger is injured riding without a harness. Seat belts save lives, so be sure that your teen understands EVERYONE in the car must wear a belt before the car is shifted into gear. Also impress upon your child that speeding is an unnecessary risk factor.

Fact: There Are Ways To Cut The Cost of North Carolina Teenager Auto Insurance.

Adding a teen driver to your policy doesn’t have to cost a fortune. Have your child attend a state-sponsored Safe Driving program. Ask about driver discounts for good grades and also discounts for low mileage. If you can afford it, increase your deductible and assume more personal responsibility to get lower rates. Lastly, don’t forget to shop around for the best deal on NC teenager auto insurance!

North Carolina Teenager Auto Insurance: Important Facts To Know Before Buying 1

Is Florida A No Fault Auto Insurance State?

Saturday, September 1st, 2012

New residents to the Sunshine State may wonder, “Is Florida a no-fault auto insurance state?” Before buying a new policy, it’s important to understand what the law says about a driver’s responsibility. As with all states, you must carry personal injury and property damage liability protection.

What Does FL No Fault Insurance Mean?

Florida is one of a select few states that are considered “no fault.” If you are injured in an auto accident, you will have to pay the first portion of your medical bills ($10,000) before the other party is expected to pay, regardless of who is at fault. Therefore, the Personal Injury Protection (PIP) you buy is mostly for your own medical bills.

What Is Personal Injury Protection?

If you’re injured in an auto accident, PIP will pay for 80 percent of your medical expenses. Most companies require that you pay at least $1,000 in deductible before their insurance kicks in. The good news is that you don’t have to wait around for compensation or deal with irritating legal issues. Your insurance simply pays up, regardless of who was at fault.

no fault florida auto insurance

Do People Carry Bodily Injury Liability In Florida?

Bodily Injury Liability is not required by law. It is estimated that 1 in 3 Florida state drivers do not carry this type of auto insurance. However, it would cover you in the event YOU are at fault for serious injury or death. Most of the time, a no-fault state does not allow people to sue for damages, but in extreme cases of death or serious negligence, it is still possible. With this optional coverage, your insurance company will pay up to the limits of your policy and provide a lawyer if you are sued.

Property Damage

Damage to vehicle is still based on a “fault” system — even in a no-fault state. So, in Florida, you must carry property damage liability of $10,000. This will pay for damage done to the other car. To pay for damage to your auto, you’ll need comprehensive (which covers theft/vandalism/storms) and collision (which covers impact from another vehicle or a wild animal).

SR 22 Auto Insurance In North Carolina: What Is “Proof Of Insurance?”

Wednesday, August 1st, 2012

Did you know that North Carolina is just one of two states that DO NOT require you to obtain SR-22 certification? You will still need auto insurance, of course, but this lax law comes as a welcome relief to many drivers.

What Is SR 22 Auto Insurance?

In most states, people carry an SR-22 document to prove their financial responsibility. If you are fortunate enough to have a “jackpot” of a savings account or a wealthy background, you do not necessarily need auto insurance if you can pay tens of thousands in damages should you cause an accident. Of course, it is not enough just to say you’ll pay. You must show proof, which is where this document comes in handy.

When Do I Need An SR-22?

Some people carry SR-22 documents when they have been convicted of a DUI or DWI. They also need it for an at-fault accident while driving uninsured. Individuals who have had repeat traffic offenses or tickets during a short period of time, a license suspension or a revocation will also need to carry an SR-22 in all states except NY and NC. Typically, these drivers are put on a probationary period for at least 3 years.

How Do I Show Proof of Insurance in North Carolina?

In North Carolina, you can use the FS-1 card (containing your name and policy number) that has been provided by your auto insurance company to show that you are financially responsible enough to drive. If you  get pulled over or involved in an accident, a police officer will routinely ask you for your “license, registration and proof of insurance.”

sr 22 auto insurance nc

Michigan Teenager Auto Insurance: Important Facts To Know Before Buying

Tuesday, July 31st, 2012

As of last March, there have been a few new driving restrictions for Level 2 license holders. The first is that a teen driver may not have more than one passenger under age 21 in the car who is not an immediate family member or unless the driver is traveling to/from school. The second restriction is that teen drivers may not drive between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless driving to/from work or with a parent/licensed adult over 21 years old.

When Can Teens Legally Drive In Michigan?

  • Level 1: Supervised Learner’s License
  • Level 2: Intermediate License (Limits unsupervised nighttime driving / passenger numbers)
  • Level 3: Full Privilege License
One must be at least 14 years and 8 months to apply for a driver education training course. This includes at least 24 hours of classroom study, 6 hours of supervised, behind-the-wheel driving and 4 hours of observation time in a training vehicle. Your teen will receive a green certificate following completion of the course, but he or she must apply for the Level 1 permit to receive driving privileges. To receive full driving privileges, your teen must be at least 17 years of age and have had a Level 2 permit for at least 6 months.

How Does Adding A Teen Driver Affect Michigan Auto Insurance Rates?

Teen drivers are the riskiest. A young person between 16-19 years of age is 4x more likely to get into a crash than any other group of motorists. So you can expect to add anywhere from $1,200 to $4,900 to your policy. As you can see, it pays to shop around with that kind of discrepancy!

5 Ways To Lower Your Auto Insurance Rate

  • Driver education course
  • Higher deductible
  • Good student discount
  • Low mileage discount
  • Shop for free online auto insurance quotes.

Michigan Teenager Auto Insurance: Important Facts To Know Before Buying 2

Is New York A No Fault Auto Insurance State?

Monday, July 30th, 2012

New York State is a no-fault auto insurance state. Whether this is a good thing or a bad thing really depends on who you ask. Currently, the only other no-fault states are: Kentucky, Hawaii, Kansas, Massachusetts, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Florida, New Jersey, Minnesota, North Dakota and Utah.

Pros of New York No Fault Auto Insurance

Proponents of the no-fault auto insurance system say that it lowers premiums by eliminating unnecessary litigation. Say you were in an accident in a tort state like Texas and you caused $15,000 in damage to the other vehicle. If the accident was deemed your fault, you would be expected to pay for the loss to the other person’s car. However, if you were not adequately insured or if you were uninsured, the other driver could sue you. The process could take a long time to resolve if both drivers are telling different stories to escape blame. In a no-fault state, the insurance you buy covers your injuries, the injuries of your passengers and damage to your vehicle, regardless of who is to blame. Some might say this encourages defensive driving.

Cons of New York No Fault Auto Insurance

On the other hand, critics of the no-fault system say that abuse is still rampant in the system. Some people claim they’ve been in an accident just to get compensation for things like time off work and money for hospital treatments. Just this past February, the feds broke up a $279 million auto insurance fraud scheme in New York, where 10 doctors and 3 attorneys helped people falsify documents to obtain benefits up to $50,000, regardless of fault. Unfortunately, these scams drive up the cost of premiums for everyone.

The Bottom Line:

New York requires every driver to carry a minimum insurance of $25,000 for personal injury protection, $50,000 for a passenger’s injuries, and $10,000 for property damage. To get the most coverage for the least amount of money, it pays to shop around!

Is New York A No Fault Auto Insurance State?  3

Ohio Teenager Auto Insurance: Important Facts To Know Before Buying

Tuesday, July 24th, 2012

Here’s the bad news: you teenagers may only make up 20 percent of the driving population, but you are responsible for over 400,000 serious accidents each year. Car accidents claim over 5,000 precious young lives each year. Unfortunately, inexperienced first-year drivers are involved in more accidents than any other group. To reduce the number of statistics, the state of Ohio has created a graduated driver licensing program aimed at making the roads safer for everyone.

Ohio Teenager Driving Requirements

  • The GDL program may be started at age 15.5.
  • The driver must complete 24 hours of classroom study and 50 hours of supervised driving, including 10 at night.
  • After 6 months, the driver can then take the skills test for the Ohio drivers’ license.
  • At age 17, the driver may apply for a probationary license.

What Is The Ohio Probationary License?

There are a whole list of conditions you must adhere to until you receive full driving privileges. For instance:

  • A licensed parent or guardian must be with you in the front seat at all times.
  • Permit holders under 18 cannot drive between 12 am and 6 am unless accompanied by an adult.
  • Probationary license holders can’t drive with more than one person who is not a family member.
  • Probationary license holders between 17-18 cannot drive between 1 and 5 am.
  • Exceptions include: driving to/from work, an emergency, charity work, or driving to/from school.
  • Drivers in Cleveland and Cincinnati will be fined for texting while driving.
  • A 0.02 BAC is enough cause for a DUI.

Ohio Teenager Auto Insurance

Teens must carry a minimum of $12,500 / $25,000 / $7,500 in liability coverage. The average increase resulting from adding teenager auto insurance to your policy is $2,171 per year. However, it can range from $1,200 to $4,900, so it pays to shop around!

teenager auto insurance

Is Texas A No Fault Auto Insurance State?

Monday, July 23rd, 2012

Do you know what a “no-fault auto insurance policy means?” A no-fault system requires drivers to purchase insurance to cover their own vehicle, medical expenses and passengers, regardless of who is at-fault. This protects you from being sued by other drivers. No-fault states include: Florida, Hawaii, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, Utah, and Puerto Rico.

Does Texas Have No Fault Auto Insurance?

No! Texas does NOT have no fault auto insurance. Essentially, Texas requires drivers to purchase insurance with minimum limits to cover accidents they cause. Someone is always deemed at-fault in an accident in Texas. You must carry a minimum of $30,000 in liability, $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damages.

Comparative Negligence in Texas

Sometimes it’s not all that easy to assign blame. Perhaps one driver was texting while driving and not quite paying attention, but the other driver was speeding way over the posted speed limit. In this case, the auto insurance provider may allow you to claim damages based on what percentage the other driver was to blame. For instance, if your medical bills cost $5,000 and it was determined the other driver was 60 percent to blame, you can demand $3,000 to cover your losses. In Texas, if you are over 49 percent to blame for an accident, you can’t seek compensation from the other driver.

Texas Auto Insurance

To avoid the expense of auto insurance in Texas, the best thing you can do is shop for free online quotes and try to find something reasonable. We work with only A+ rated companies and take no commission, so you’re guaranteed a great rate!

Is Texas A No Fault Auto Insurance State? 4

Pennsylvania Teenage Auto Insurance: Important Facts To Know Before Buying

Tuesday, July 17th, 2012

The thought of insuring a Pennsylvania teenager can be daunting, as teen auto insurance rates tend to be rather high. Statistically speaking, teens get in more accidents, hence the higher rate. Since Pennsylvania is a no-fault state, your son or daughter will be covered by your insurance policy should an accident occur — regardless of who is to blame. However, you will still want to find the best rates. Here are a few tips.

Have Your Teen Take A Training Course.

The completion of a driver safety course through school entitles Pennsylvania teenagers to a 10 percent discount. These classes used to be mandatory, but now it takes a little bit of effort to find a class and get your child to sign up. Ask your insurance provider if they offer a special driver course for teenagers, which may save you up to 15 percent.

Get Your Teen A Car.

Some Pennsylvania parents try to save money on auto insurance by adding an inexperienced operator to their policies. Unfortunately, most insurance providers will penalize all the cars on the policy if there is a primary operator who is inexperienced.

Ask About Longevity or Loyalty Discounts.

If you and your spouse have been long-time customers of your insurer, then you may be entitled to a discount of up to 15 percent. This can offset the additional expense of having a young driver on your policy.

Your best bet for saving money is to shop around to check the cost of Pennsylvania teenage auto insurance online.

Pennsylvania Teenage Auto Insurance: Important Facts To Know Before Buying 5