A valid auto insurance policy must be held by all residents of Florida if they wish to use their vehicles on local roads and freeways. Failure to maintain the adequate levels of compulsory auto insurance is a violation that can see license plates revoked and driving privileges suspended. The only exemption to this is for drivers who only use Florida highways for ninety days or less each year and even in these cases, they will still have to have an own auto insurance policy for their home state that offers extendable coverage to drive elsewhere.
Because sufficient coverage is so important, Florida residents should insist on obtaining auto insurance quotes from carriers that are licensed to operate within the Sunshine State. Prior to purchasing a policy, it can be particularly beneficial to contact the local Department of Insurance to find out details about the carriers you are considering. Insurance ratings are a highly important factor when gathering car insurance quotes and the right company should be able to tick all the boxes in terms of reputation, financial stability and business performance. The recent growth in the number of insurance companies operating within Florida means that there are a handful of unscrupulous operators around and these should be avoided if the best possible auto insurance is going to be obtained.
Operating as a no-fault state, Florida has no obligatory requirements in terms of bodily injury liability although this can be factored into auto insurance quotes if required. However, it is still compulsory to purchase personal injury protection and property damage liability. Both of these requirements must be purchased to a minimum value of $10,000 each.
Personal injury protection will cover the cost of medical bills and treatment to a value of 80% of the insurance coverage ceiling. It is important to check auto insurance quotes to see if coverage is also provided if the policyholder is acting as a pedestrian or a cyclist. Property damage liability will cover the cost of repairs to the vehicle of a third party and the repair or replacement of any other items damaged as a result of a road traffic accident. This can include anything from personal items inside another vehicle to the fencing or home of a third party individual.
Florida state law may make other factors compulsory when car insurance quotes are being compared. Motorists with a string of driving violations may find that they have to purchase increased levels of personal injury protection and property damage liability. If the driver has been in a previous accident, they may be required to take out bodily injury liability in the same manner as residents of Tort states. The usual levels applied in these cases are $10,000 worth of bodily injury liability per person and $20,000 per accident.
Motorists in Florida with DUI convictions will usually be punished even further and it is often compulsory for them to purchase bodily injury liability insurance to a level of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident. Personal injury protection and property damage liability coverage may also rise and these costs will usually become apparent when auto insurance quotes are being studied for the first time after an incident.