Before you take your vehicle onto Florida State roads and highways, it’s a good idea to familiarise yourself with the mandatory state requirements for Florida auto insurance. As with any other state in America, there are a number of mandatory obligations that all road users should meet. Failure to meet the compulsory requirements can result in a loss of driving privileges, fines and a revoked license registration.
Florida operates as a no-fault state, and this means that road users have no direct responsibilities or liabilities to the physical welfare of other motorists unless extenuating circumstances apply. As a rule, auto insurance is purchased to cover one’s own well-being and this particular part of a policy is referred to as personal injury protection.
In Florida, all road users must carry a minimum of $10,000 worth of personal injury protection per person. This level of coverage must also extend to $20,000 worth of personal injury protection per accident and this additional requirement safeguards the welfare of passengers inside the insured vehicle.
As part of the Florida minimum auto insurance requirements, road users do have a responsibility towards the property of third party motorists. All vehicle owners must carry $10,000 worth of property damage liability and this section on an auto insurance deal covers the costs of repairs to other vehicles and any subsequent damage to static property. Obviously, these are only the minimum requirements and vehicle owners are perfectly entitled to enhance their levels of coverage if required.