According to state legislators, there are more than 869,000 (out of 3 million) cars being driven without proper insurance. As of August 1st, Louisiana residents who break the law by not carrying proof of auto insurance will have their cars towed. Governor Bobby Jindal signed into law House Bill 1053 that repeals a five-year ban on impounding vehicles on first time offenses. Drivers may be impounded and ticketed on subsequent occasions as well if they cannot produce proof of insurance within 72 hours.
Louisiana Liability Insurance Requirements
By law, Louisiana drivers are required to carry the following minimum coverage:
- $15,000 per person for bodily injury or death
- $30,000 per accident for bodily injury or death
- $25,000 for property damage
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Drivers must also carry proof of financial responsibility and insurance. That means being able to produce the I.D. card issued by the auto insurance company. Law enforcement will also accept a copy of the insurance policy paperwork, the insurance policy’s declarations page, or a written statement from the insurance carrier on company letterhead with an official signature and all vehicle information. If a Louisiana driver is caught without proof of insurance, he or she can be issued a violation, have the license plates taken away, or the vehicle impounded. Insurance reinstatement fees of $50 – $225 may also apply.
Auto Insurance In Louisiana Is Cheaper Than One May Think!
Louisiana has the second-highest annual auto insurance rate (next to Michigan), with an average policy costing drivers $2,453 per year. However, low cost auto insurance in Louisiana is still possible by searching quotes from multiple providers online. It only takes a few minutes to enter some basic information about the vehicles driven and coverage desired. If a good quote is uncovered, drivers can then elect to have a representative from that insurance company contact them. There’s no harm in saving thousands by playing the market, so why not try today?