In the state of Ohio, there are literally thousands of uninsured motorists breaking the law. The Ohio Dept of Insurance estimates that as many as 15 percent of Ohio drivers carry no auto insurance whatsoever. Even more people are under-insured and unable to pay for damages they may cause in an accident.
Extra Ohio Auto Insurance
For this reason, you may want to consider buying extra UM/UIM coverage, which takes the place of the liability coverage the other driver did not have and pays for the injuries to you and your passengers. Uninsured Motorist Property Damage will cover the cost of repairing your vehicle if the other motorist does not have adequate insurance. MedPay is another optional coverage that pays for injuries to you or your passengers, providing benefits no matter who is at fault in the accident.
What Is The Mandatory Ohio Auto Insurance Coverage Required?
The minimum amount of auto insurance required by Ohio law is as follows:
- $12,500/person for Bodily Injury
- $25,000/accident for Bodily Injury
- $7,500/accident for Property Damage
What Are The Consequences Of Being Underinsured In Ohio?
You must carry proof of auto insurance in Ohio whenever you are driving. You must have a copy of your insurance policy card, as well as a certificate of proof of financial responsibility on a form from the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles. If you are caught driving without financial responsibility, you may suffer one of the following penalties:
- 90-Day Driver’s License Suspension
- License Plate / Vehicle Impoundment
- Court Costs
- $75 Reinstatement Fee
- Impound Fee
To find a better price on your Ohio auto insurance and ensure that you are complying with the law, surf our site for free quotes!