For Washington drivers, the basic auto insurance coverage amounts are set by the state legislature. This is a tort state for car insurance purposes, which means that the driver who has been found legally responsible for an accident must pay for the damages he or she caused. Property damage and bodily injury liability insurance coverage are required by law.
Property damage coverage is used to pay for repairs to the other driver’s vehicle following the accident. It also pays for damage to other property following the event, including sign posts, mail boxes, fences, guard rails, buildings and sheds. At least $10,000 must be put in place for this purpose.
Bodily injury liability coverage is also a legal requirement in Washington. This is the part of the policy which is used to pay for medical bills and other expenses related to the accident, and pays a certain amount for funeral benefits if the accident caused one or more deaths. Drivers in Washington must buy at least $25,000 in coverage to compensate one accident victim or injuries and $50,000 to pay for injuries and damages sustained by two or more accident victims.
Car insurance buyers can buy a policy with a higher limit than the minimum level of protection required by law if they wish, and it’s a good idea to consider buying one. With the ever-rising cost of health care, the coverage available under a basic policy can be used up very quickly if the accident causes injuries requiring hospitalization.